COUNTY novice and uneven age Championships, Letterkenny

There was a big turnout for the county novice and uneven age Championships were held in St Eunan’s GAA grounds in Letterkenny on Saturday morning the going was heavy after the recent rain but the surface held up exceptionally well and provided some excellent competition. Facilities were excellent and Letterkenny AC laid out an excellent course and provide stewards and officials on the day. Karen Gallagher, Finn Valley was the first winner of the day taking the Women’s Novice title with ease but Lifford Strabane led by Elaine Connor finished four athletes in the top eight to take the title with Finn valley in second and Inishowen in third. Darragh Crossan from City of Derry Spartans guested in this race and came home in first place, however, the records will show that Philip Mc Hugh Letterkenny is the County Champion. Milford were the team winners from Rosses and Letterkenny.

Women’s Novice                                                                                  Men’s Novice

1. Karen Gallagher, Finn Valley                                                          1. Darragh Crossan, Sparta

2. Elaine Connor, Lifford Strabane                                                    2. Philip Mc Hugh, Letterkenny

3. Linda Mc Grath, Lifford Strabane                                                  3. Mark Ward, Rosses

Teams                                                                                                      Teams

1. Lifford Strabane (2,3,4,8) 17 pts                                                    1. Milford ( 34 pts

2. Finn Valley ( 31 pts                                                         2. Rosses ( 39 pts 

3. Inishowen (7,12,14,17) 50 pts                                                        3. Letterkenny (2.4.17,24) 47 pts

            Letterkenny AC Novice team with County Champions Philp Mc Gee Back row



                  Killybegs duo Cian Mc Monagle and Ethan Diver after the Under 9 race

U/11 Girls                                                                                                  U/11 Boys

1. Darcy Clarke, Lifford Strabane                                                          1. Evan Ward, Rosses

2. Saorla Gilligan, Finn Valley                                                                 2. Oisin Mc Bride, Cranford

3. Clara Gillespie, Tír Chonaill                                                                3. Noah Mc Guire, Tír Chonaill

Teams                                                                                                        Teams

1. Finn Valley (2,4,5,6) 17 pts                                                                1. Letterkenny (4,7,11,14) 36 pts

2. Rosses (8,13,19,20) 60 pts                                                                 2. Finn Valley (5,8,13,16) 42 pts                                         

3. Letterkenny (9,17,25,44) 95 pts                                                        3. Tír Chonaill (3,10,18,20) 51pts


Finn Valley Under 11 Girls Squad

U/13 Girls                                                                                                  U/13 Boys

1. Sarah Mulvanney-Kelly, North Leitrim                                            1. Daragh Naughton, Letterkenny

2. Faela Houston, Rosses                                                                       2. Odhran Rogers, Rosses

3. Holly Mc Nulty, Finn Valley                                                               3. Patrick Mc Hugh, Olympian

Teams                                                                                                        Teams

1. Finn Valley (3,4,5,6) 18pts                                                                1. Finn Valley (4,5,8,9) 26 pts

2. Rosses (2,12,14,20) 48 pts                                                                2. Rosses (2,11,15,18)   46pts                                      

3. Cranford (13,21, 30) 64pts                                                                3. Letterkenny (1,16,31,33) 81 pts



                                                Medal winners in the Girls U/13 race

Girls U/15                                                                                                  Boys U/15

1. Anna Russell, Letterkenny                                                                 1. Caolan Mc Fadden, Cranford

2. Miah Fletcher, Cranford                                                                     2. Mark Galvin, Letterkenny

3. Emma Bonner, Letterkenny                                                               3. Lucas Lyons, North Leitrim

Teams                                                                                                         Teams

1. Letterkenny (1,3,8,9) 21 pts                                                               1. Finn Valley (4,8,9,10) 31 pts

2. Finn Valley (4,12,14,25) 55pts                                                            2. Letterkenny (2,6,11,14) 33 pts

3. Inishowen (20,21,22,24) 87 pts

Girls U/17                                                                                                  Boys U/17   

1. Clodagh Neely, Cranford                                                                     1. Philip Mc Gee, Letterkenny

2. Jessica Cullen, Cranford                                                                       2. Ryan Quinn, Finn Valley

3. Orla Neely, Cranford                                                                             3. Eoin Mulhern, Inishowen

4. Blathnaid Gallagher, Cranford


1.       Cranford (1,2,3,4) 10 pts



                   Cranford Girls winners of the U/17 Championship

U/19 Girls                                                                                                    U/19 Boys    

1. Cara Laverty, Finn Valley                                                                       1. Sean Mc Ginley, Finn Valley

2. Nuala Bose, Finn Valley                                                                         2. Oisin Toye, Finn Valley

3. Amy Green, Rosses                                                                               3. Diarmuid Keogh, Finn Valley  


                           Inishowen Novice Women bronze medal winners on Saturday


The 53rd Annual General Meeting of the County Board was held in the Finn Valley Centre on Monday night. The size of the venue allowed for the delegates to be socially distanced from each other. Long serving Director of Competition Patrick Galvin, Finn Valley stood down from the committee due to pressure of work and Bernie O’ Callaghan, Killybegs was elected to succeed him. The committee for the coming year is President Eamon Giles, Cranford, Chairman Michael Galvin, Letterkenny, Director of Administration Finbarr Gallagher, Inishowen, Director of Finance Michael Mc Elroy, Rosses, Director of Competition Bernie O’ Callaghan, Killybegs, Director of Coaching Michael Logue, Rosses, Director of Juvenile Affairs Mark Connolly, Finn Valley, Director of High-Performance David Doherty, Tír Chonaill. 



Previous: There was a big turnout for the county novice and uneven age Championships were held in St Eunan’s GAA grounds in Letterkenny
Next: Autumn Open International Cross Country

Follow Us on Twitter