Sommer and Dempsey European Cup Selection

Ireland to send strong team to European Team Championships

Finn Valley are happy to report the inclusion of 4 Donegal athletes on European Cup team SommEr Lecky high jump her first ever senior international so pretty special and  Dempsey Mc Guigan hammer .Also named Mark English and Ann Marie Mc Glynn with Patsy Mc Gonagle as Team Leader .

Valley have had strong representation on European cup squads in recent years back in 2015 in Crete included in addition to Dempsey were Tori Pena and ,Megan Tice also high jump with Patsy Team Leader . WE wish them well  



Athletics Ireland has selected its strongest team available for the European Athletics Team Championships First League in the Finnish university town of Vaasa on June 23-25. 


The competition sees twelve nations looking to gain one of the three promotion spots to the European Team Championships Super League in 2019.


While in recent editions we have fared very well on the track, we have the potential to make a real impact in the jumps and throws this year also.  Youth is a strong characteristic of this year’s squad, with a significant number of Junior’s and U23’s earning their selection across the spectrum of events.”





100m Eanna Madden (Carrick on Shannon AC)

200m Marcus Lawler (St Laurence O Toole AC) 

400m Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers AC)

800m Mark English (UCD AC)

1500m Paul Robinson (St Coca’s AC)

3000m John Travers (Donore Harriers AC)

5000m Mark Christie (Mullingar Harriers AC)

3k SC David Flynn (Clonliffe Harriers AC)

110mH Ben Reynolds (North Down AC)

400mH Thomas Barr (Ferrybank AC)

High Jump Ryan Carthy Walsh (Adamstown AC)

Long Jump Adam McMullen (Crusaders AC)

Triple Jump Denis Finnegan (An

Riocht AC)   

Pole Vault Sean Roth (DSD AC)

Shot Putt Sean Breathnach (Galway City Harriers AC)


Discus Colin Quirke (Crusaders AC)


Hammer Dempsey McGuigan (Finn Valley AC)


Javelin Stephen Rice (Clonliffe Harriers AC)



4 x 100m Relay  Marcus Lawler (St Laurence O Toole AC)

Eanna Madden (Carrick on Shannon AC)

Mark Smyth (Raheny Shamrock AC)

Christian Robinson (QUB AC)


Stephen Gaffney (Rathfarnham WSAF AC)


4 x 400m Relay 


        Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers AC)

Mark English (UCD AC)

Thomas Barr (Ferrybank AC)

Chris O'Donnell

North (Sligo AC)

Luke Lennon Ford (Clonliffe Harriers AC)


Andrew Mellon (Crusaders AC)




100m Amy Foster (City Of Lisburn AC)

200m Phil Healy (Bandon AC)

400m Sinead Denny (DSD AC)

800m Claire Mooney (Naas AC)


1500m Claire Tarplee (St Coca’s AC)


3000m Emma Mitchell (QUB AC)

5000m Ann Marie McGlynn (Letterkenny AC)

3k SC Kerry O'Flaherty (Newcastle & District AC)

110mH Sarah Lavin (UCD AC)

400mH Christine McMahon (Ballymena & Antrim AC)

High Jump Sommer Lecky (Finn Valley AC)

Long Jump Sarah McCarthy (Mid-Sutton AC)

Triple Jump Saragh Buggy (St. Abbans AC)

Pole Vault Sarah McKeever (DSD AC)


Shot Putt Clare Fitzgerald (Tralee Harriers AC)

Discus Clare Fitzgerald (Tralee Harriers AC)

Hammer Cara Kennedy (Ferrybank AC)


Javelin Grace Casey (Eire Og Corra Choill AC)



4 x 100m Relay 

        Amy Foster (City Of Lisburn AC)

Ciara Neville (Emerald AC)

Gina Akpe Moses (Blackrock/)Birchfield

Sharlene Mawdsley (Newport)

Niamh Whelan (Ferrybank AC)

Sarah Lavin (UCD AC)



4x400m relay 

        Sinead Denny (DSD AC)

Phil Healy (Bandon AC)

Sharlene Mawdsley (Newport)

Jenna Bromell (Emerald AC)

Grainne Moynihan (West Muskerry AC)



Week ahead









Grant Thornton 5km Corporate Team Challenge, Cork






Oslo Diamond League, Oslo






Munster U14-U19 T&F Championships 



Leinster Juvenile T&F Championships Day 1



Connacht U13-U19 T&F Championships



NI & Ulster 14 - 17 T&F Championships






Stockholm Diamond League, Stockholm



Munster U14-U19 T&F Championships



Leinster Juvenile T&F Championships Day 2



Connacht U13-U19 T&F Championships


Previous: John Carlin Athlete Awards
Next: Mark Hoy Makes It Three

Follow Us on Twitter